Unexpected financial emeregncy

One of the major challenges  that we faced  last year was when we found out that we have a very low chance of conceiving naturally and that ‘s our most likely chance of starting a family is through IVF. Of course, this has put us in a huge financial distress, especially as we decided to opt for the “shared-risk option” which gives us six IVF rounds for a hefty flat fee of $22,000 that is not covered by our insurance. When we decided that we want to do this , we didn’t have this amount of money available in cash for us to use. We also decided against using any of our emergency fund, which was created solely to prevent us from losing our house if any one of us lost their job.

It took us around six months, but we managed to save $10,000 for the shared-risk option. As for the remaining $12,000, ah well, we don’t have any choice but to put it on credit cards and work diligently to pay the debt as soon as possible. We decided to do this because this might be our only chance of starting a family. We are planning to sign the IVF contract today and mail it tomorrow, which means further belt-tightening starts now, hence I’m back to blogging.  This is a very private and sensitive subject that is so hard for me to share with people I know. I’m opting for this anonymous blogging to give myself an outlet and also to keep myself motivated while me and my husband take on this huge financial stress that will eventually pay off.

Frugal Newbie is back, and this time for a while.

Leave a comment